The BC Security Commission

In December 1941, the Government of Canada enacted the War Measures Act. The BC Security Commission was created on March 4, 1942 to oversee the internment process, chaired by Austin C. Taylor, a prominent businessman, with a 20 member advisory board. The other two administrators were RCMP Assistant Commissioner Frederick J. Mead, and John Shirras, the Assistant Commissioner of the BC Provincial Police. They were also helped by the Department of Labour. A Custodian of Enemy Property held all land and property in trust, but later sold the confiscated properties without the owner’s consent, and the funds were used to partially cover the costs.

Attachment (scan of report)

The Final Report on Hastings Park, prepared by the BC Security Commission in 1942? (Please note that the language used in this report reflects the attitudes of the 1940s and may be upsetting to some readers). A copy of the original report is in the Nikkei National Museum collection 1994.69.1.1